Impress Your Friends at the Super Bowl: A Fun Breakdown of Why Insanely Expensive Super Bowl Ads are Worth it.
Life-Changing Money for You = 30 Second Super Bowl Ad for Brands
Think of all the things you could do with $6.5 million cash today. Buy a home, maybe 2. Definitely a few cars. Hell, I’d go for a boat. That kind of money would be not just life-changing, but would bring a new meaning to the phrase “generational wealth” for your family.
… That’s what companies spend for a 30 second Super Bowl ad. Money that would change your entire life is blown in 30 seconds for some silly commercial.
The question is, is that marketing exposure worth it for brands? Is ad space on the Super Bowl really that likely to drive traffic to their stores? Check out this fun, simple breakdown that makes sense of why brands would be willing to throw so much money for a 30-second spotlight on Super Bowl Sunday!
Think in Terms of “Cost per 1,000 Viewers”
In the marketing world, promotional efforts are evaluated based on cost “per 1,000 viewers” – expressed in the acronym CPM. (Actually CPV, but we’ll get back to the difference between CPM and CPV in another article).
Now, you have to remember, the Super Bowl is the most-watched event of the year in the largest market in the world – the USA.
$6.5 million for a 30-second ad may sound ludicrous at first, but consider the fact that 117 million people watch the Super Bowl. That is a lot of eyeballs on your product.
To calculate CPM on this, follow the simple math below:
$6,500,000/117,000,000 people = $0.055 so just about ~5 cents a person
$0.055*1,000 viewers = $55 spent for 1,000 viewers of your ad
When you break it down like that, the value of super bowl ads starts to make a little more sense… but still. The sheer scale of this money is hard to wrap your head around. Furthermore, you have to consider reruns and “viral moments” on social media, bringing further exposure to the brand message. Imagine your friend makes some silly meme on a commercial, and it gets viewed millions of times… that value of that ad just shot up exponentially.
Thus, when factoring in reruns and the viral nature of social media, we can guesstimate that the CPM of a super bowl is probably 2-3 times lower: maybe around $20-22 for 1,000 viewers.
Want more details on how we got to the result, here is a YouTube video we recorded on this topic:
…Only $20 to reach 1,000 likely buyers? Now the Super Bowl ads are starting to make a LOT of sense. And hey, bring this up at your next Super Bowl watch party, and you’ll definitely sound like the smartest kid in class 😉
How can Smaller Businesses Achieve the Same Value for Their Ads?
For most business owners, this may seem like a moot point. Few companies, even large ones, are willing to dole out that kind of cash for a single 30-second ad spot. However, there are ways online to achieve even better CPM, regardless of the size of your business.
If you’d like to know more, stay tuned for tomorrow’s article. We’ll explain some alternatives for small business owners to run much cheaper but potentially more effective ads.
Do you want to know more today about running clever ads for a fraction of the cost of Super Bowl ads? Contact Ad360 for a free demo and 24/7 support today. Ad360 is a fully automated promotional platform that streamlines all your ad campaigns to one place. We can set up your highly targeted ad campaigns, find the best customers… and then you can brag not only about knowing the CPM of Super Bowl ads next year. You can celebrate sales of your Shopify store multiplying several times over – that’s what we call a game-changer.
Google has introduced in February 2022 a new Partner Program, with more robust Partner requirements.
This is a way for Google to certify businesses that have the required skill, experience and knowledge to help businesses run more successful Google Ads campaigns.
Ad360 is honored and proud to have been certified as a Google Partner under this new program launched in February 2022.
This certification recognizes the value that Ad360 brings to its users. Thanks to the integration of Google Ads campaigns in our Apps, Ad360 users are more likely to succeed and get better outcomes out of their advertising campaigns.
Google Ads is a fantastic and rich environment, that many businesses use to find new customers. However, its vastness sometimes also makes it difficult to navigate for business owners who don’t have professional advertising background or skills, especially given the numerous Google products and platforms included in Google Ads: Search Engine ads, YouTube ads, Gmail ads, Google Maps ads, all with many ad formats and features to master.
Ad360 helps users get the most of Google Ads. Thanks to automatic management and campaigns optimization using the years-long Research & Development of Ad360, they maximize the results of their campaigns. Plus, all these campaigns can be managed under one roof, along with other Social Media platform ads, and ads that run in millions of independent websites and mobile.
If you’d like to learn more, and get helped to run successful Google Ads campaign, please book a demo and see Ad360 App in action for yourself.
If you’ve been following the “Odyssey of Frank’s Shopify Store” with Ad360, you know Frank went from a dated brick-and-mortar salesman to selling online during the pandemic.
He could even implement savant geolocation targeting and other advanced advertising features thanks to Ad360. His ads no longer went unnoticed in Google and Facebook.
Moreover, he now had access to millions of websites and mobile apps to advertise on.
However, there is a final promotional piece to the puzzle missing here…
Frank and many Shopify store owners getting started with digital advertising face this roadblock.
Sleek, professional, truly eye-catching ad banners.
Who generates them?
Frank read online that most Shopify store owners in his position relied on some third-party app, no matter what they approach. Some downloaded Canva online to paste together a basic ad (which they had to remake over and over), while others hired an Adobe pro illustrator… for hundreds of dollars per banner. Oof.
Frank majored in business management – not graphic design…
Yet, here, he felt the success of his Shopify store depended on having a variety of ad banners to deploy across the web. Being a one-man-show, Frank already handled all the daily responsibilities of keeping his Shopify store running and his social media at a “base engagement” level. Adding on the burden of pumping out creative ad banners gave the guy a headache. He made one while rushing, and within 30 minutes, his buddy reached out: “Dude, you know that Shopify store ad you just posted on Instagram? It’s off-center dude. It looks like you were drunk when you made it. Just a head’s up.”
Before slamming his head on the desk in frustration, Frank reached out to Ad360’s 24/7 support. They reminded him their software has one of the most powerful creative generator tools in the industry…
Ad360’s creative ad banner feature generates 15 distinct ads of different shapes, colors, and sizes. Even better, the pictures and pricing were automatically extracted from his Shopify store data.
The guy didn’t have to lift a finger – all these creative, professional-standard ads generated instantly from Ad360’s suite of features.
Frank no longer felt “washed out” or limited testing different Shopify store ads on the web. Some were designed for “above-the-fold” viewing, some for “below-the-fold” placements, and others for almost any ad inventory shape you can think of.
Even better, Frank found it super simple to keep track of which of these ads performed the best – Ad360 kept that data organized on his Shopify store dashboard. Plus, Ad36 automatically focused on the ads bringing the most visitors and buyers to Frank’s website.
Are you spending hours creating your own ads, only to throw them up and get a less-than-stellar return on ad spending (ROAS)? Please reach out, and try our free demo of Ad360 today for access to our “instantaneous ad generation tool.”
Never again will you waste your precious hours centering a single ad on Canva or Adobe: you’ll get 15 original designs with the snap of a finger.
All powered by Ad360’s suite of services – try our free demo today to see if it can boost your sales and change your life!
A step-by-step guide to using the Creative Studio to immediately get creatives from scratch in Ad360 App for Shopify.
1. Go the Creatives. tab
Firstly, click on the “Creatives” link on the navigation panel to go to the Creatives page. There, click on the “Creative Studio” button to access the Creatives Studio.
2. Creative Studio Page.
On this page, you will see banners that are automatically generated by Ad360, based on your product information in your Shopify store. You can choose a Shopify collection of products so that multiple products are automatically included in the dynamic banner.
3. Personalize your Banners.
After choosing a product collection, you choose the template (e.g. with or without logo), and multiple sizes are automatically generated with your products info.
You can customize background and text colors using the buttons in the middle of the screen.
4. Save your template.
Click the “Create” button to save the templates and all formats at once. All sizes will be added to your Creatives library and can be easily added to any of your Line Items.
A step-by-step guide to starting a campaign from scratch in Ad360 App for Shopify
Once you’re into the App, go to either the Dashboard tab or the Campaigns tab. You can create a campaign from either page.
1. Click on the “Create Campaign” button.
Click the Create Campaign button. This is your first step to learning how to create a campaign in the Ad360App for Shopify. On this page you will find existing campaigns that you may have created before, if any.
Next, On the right-hand side, there is a “Create Campaign” button. Click the button to open a simple form that you need to fill in with some of your campaigns information.
2. Enter your campaign name and budget
You need to enter a Campaign name, the Budget you want to spend with the campaign – which is the maximum amount of money you want the campaign to spend, between the start date and the end date.
Information tip: The max bid is an amount that limits the price you pay for ads in certain channels.
3. Select your campaign goal
Select your Campaign Goal. This is the primary goal of your campaign:
4. Set your Exploration Goal
Lastly, set the Exploration Level. This determines how much of your budget is redeployed by the algorithms and gathers data.
5. Save Campaign
When you are happy with the exploration level, click “Save Campaign” to create your campaign.